Author Topic: Take the digital age outside the club...  (Read 912 times)

Bags

Take the digital age outside the club...
« on: January 15, 2006, 02:01:00 am »
January 15, 2006
 Op-Ed Contributor
 Don't Rock and Dial
 By GERRI HIRSHEY, The New York times

A few months ago, I staked out a spot on the packed dance floor at Irving Plaza to see a rare Manhattan performance by the British piano man Jamie Cullum. As a music journalist, I've cheerfully survived my share of sweaty mosh pits. So had my evening's companion, who is a feisty alumnus of a 1980's punk group. Yet neither of us was prepared for our evening-long tussle with a horde of rock 'n' roll barbarians. Their cudgels were cellphones.

These boors stood with their phones held aloft during the show, intermittently bellowing the lyrics into it for the benefit of some unfortunate friend on the other end. The scourge included camera phones and larger digital cameras as well, scores of them. Their owners elbowed their neighbors, stomped toes and shoved. One disgruntled patron uttered a faint, "Yo! Not cool!" But no one really challenged these bullies, or even asked them to lower their offending arms.

Alas, it has become an accepted, if distracting fact of American life: every minute roaming, in network or in a seat at Madison Square Garden must be shared and even downloaded. These trophy-hunters clamor to net every vibrant blue note and pin it to the hard drive at home.