Author Topic: Marah at Jammin Java  (Read 1701 times)

chaz

• este lugar es una mierda
Marah at Jammin Java
« on: July 17, 2007, 09:33:00 am »
Marah is playing this club in a few weeks.  Anyone ever seen them?  How were they???  Also, is Jammin Java a decent place to see shows?

Re: Marah at Jammin Java
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2007, 09:39:00 am »
I saw Marah a long time ago, opening for Steve Earle at the 9:30. I wasn't blown away by them then, but based on good word of mouth, I'd give them another chance sometime.

Once you get over the strip mall effect, Jammin Java is a great venue. I'm no sound expert, but I've thought it was very good, even during a full on rock show. The seating is a bonus, though they get rid of it during larger shows (and this one may be such). The food is reasonably tasty, and the staff are always nice.

Plus, I was told (by a fellow 9:30 boardie) that they let children under six in for free, unlike the Birchmere and Wolftrap, which charge full adult admission price for newborns and older.

chaz

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2007, 09:46:00 am »
Thanks Rhett.  There's a local kids band called Rocknocerous that has a weekly residency at JJ....thought I'd share since you're a Dad now and all.  Congrats btw!  Word is that things are going quite smoothly for the 3 of you.

Marah is on a Wednesday night I think, but I'll probably go just the same.  Show is listed to start at 8:00.  Do things usually start on time there?

« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2007, 09:56:00 am »
Thanks! Compared to some of the baby horror stories I've heard, I think things are going very well.

If memory serves me correctly, the listed time is indeed the time that the opener will go on. I think they have maybe an 11pm curfew, so they need to keep things moving. Typically, they begin seating 30 minutes before the show when there is seating.

Originally posted by chaz: