Author Topic: Mingering Mike  (Read 1441 times)

Bags

Mingering Mike
« on: July 20, 2007, 10:48:00 am »
Seems like this exhibit would be right up the alley of some of the folks on here.  I'm going to see it on its last day, Sat, July 28.

Find out about it  here.

...two record-collecting bargain hunters snatched up what they found, nearly 200 fake LPs and 45s stashed away and mistaken for actual vinyl records, and they went searching for the creator of this treasure trove: the mysterious Mingering Mike...Mike quickly became an intriguing character in the record collecting community, and now that his artwork is being shown in a gallery setting, Mike is fast becoming a figure in self-taught visual art as well.

Mikeâ??s world of pretend vinyl covers (and rough-cut acapella home recordings on headphones) line the walls of Hemphill in full color, finally bringing Mike to the adoring audience he always imagined. Itâ??s a gold mine for audiophiles, soul aficionados, and outsider art groupies, displaying replica album covers complete with paper liners to protect the "delicate" surfaces of his cardboard records, detailed liner notes, and extensive catalogue numbers of an imaginary system. He forged grooves with marker, crayon, or pencil â?? each held by a hand-scrawled album cover, drawn with careful thought and wild imagination. His cover art, line drawings, done in now-fading marker scribbles, show Mike and his entourage of characters acting out the star life.