Author Topic: sirius versus xm  (Read 3746 times)

walkonby

sirius versus xm
« on: June 25, 2005, 02:59:00 pm »
not sure if this topic's been covered or not, but what is the general consensus?  i'm new to sirius, and one of my friends (omg, he has friends?) claims xm destroys.  sirius is more expensive, all around, from the equipment to the activation, but i know quite well that sometimes you can never go serious by the price tag.  mikey tyson sure is now aware of that hardened truth.

jb1677

Re: sirius versus xm
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2005, 11:26:00 pm »
I dont own either, mostly because I am torn on which to get.  I have a few friends with XM, they swear by it and when I ride with them I have no complaints, though none of them have ever had Sirius so they cant do a true comparison.  Whenever I am traveling and rent a car from Hertz I get Sirius and enjoy it.

Quality wise I can not tell the difference, Ia m sure some audiophile here will start rattling off technical specs on which is bes but personally I cant hear a difference.

Music selection is a matter of taste but both seemed to hit on what I like, so basically I am torn on which to get.  For now I just settle for my MP3 player in the car!

RatBastard

• Obscenitees
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2005, 12:23:00 am »
I have XM and like it.  The best thing to do is look at the channel list that each has and see which matches yoru taste better.  As far as quality goes they are about equal as far as i can tell.
FUKIT

hitman

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2005, 01:14:00 am »
rumor has it, there are talks of a merger between the two...i don't know how they would get past being a monopoly...but come 6 months to a year from now, you may not have to worry about any differences between the two...

novadancer

« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2005, 12:42:00 pm »